Hummus and Grilled Vegetables

I never set out to make this dish a ‘centrepiece’, in fact my simple hope was that it would fit nicely into the category of  a ‘more-than-a-dip-but-not-so-formal’ main dish.

Firstly, I made my own hummus, which is pretty easy.  A can of chickpeas, 2 tablespoons of tahini, 1/4 cup of olive oil, 3-4 tabs of lemon juice and 2-3 cloves of garlic, a pinch of salt and a little water blended to a smooth consistency.  Taste and adjust as required.

After, placing into a pie/flan dish I decided to get creative and I turned to my bbq grill.  I chargrilled capsicum, zucchini (fresh from the garden), eggplant, squash and another garlic clove.  To this cooked mix, I stirred through a teaspoon of sumac and the juice of one lemon.  I was intending to add some rocket, but forgot, and it seems, it didn’t matter.  I took it to my vegetarian friends for pre-Chrissy drinks and nibbles and was showered with praise.  We ripped some lebanese bread and I think I may have even chopped some hazelnuts for a bit of crunch just before serving.

I will certainly be doing this one again – easy, transportable, healthy and delicious!  12375013_10153723996480675_1788567303540321157_o.jpg

One thought on “Hummus and Grilled Vegetables

Leave a Reply

